Certifications Obtained Through This Course
- Arizona Concealed Weapons Permit (CWP)
- Florida Concealed Weapon or Firearm License (CWFL)
- Utah Concealed Firearm Permit (CFP)
Utah Concealed Carry & Advanced Handgun Fundamentals Course
Legal Heat, the nation’s largest concealed firearm training firm, is offering an exclusive firearm training event at the new state of the art Legacy Shooting Center in West Jordan.
This course is perfectly designed for the following individuals:
- Those who already have their concealed carry permit but are looking for more training than a standard course; and
- Those who do not yet have their concealed carry permit and are looking for a training class that offers much more training and information than a standard course.
This event will be roughly eight hours in duration and will consist of roughly 4 hours of classroom training that will cover in-depth the laws regarding owning, purchasing, carrying and transporting a firearm, as well as self-defense. This portion of the class will be taught by nationally recognized firearm law attorney Phil Nelsen. Phil is a former prosecutor, current Utah defense attorney, professor and author of the widely popular Legal Heat: 50 State Guide to Firearm Laws book and app.
The remaining 3-4 hours of training will consist of hands on training regarding firearm safety and live-fire exercises. Students will have the opportunity to practice and receive feedback from the Mantis X training system (a simulation handgun experience that tracks the movement of your handgun's barrel during the trigger pull). Two of Legal Heat’s most experienced firearm instructors will also be on hand to guide your through 1 on 1 firearm training exercises. Students can either bring their own firearms or rent one of the 75+ handgun rental options at Legacy Shooting Center.
This event is being hosted by Kendall Jones. Kendall is a hunter, philanthropist and social media influencer who provides her million+ followers with content regarding firearms, hunting and her own path to self-protection. Kendall has partnered with Legal Heat to help reach a demographic of others on the same journey. She will be on-hand at the event the entire day. You can learn more about Kendall’s story by clicking here.
What Is Included In This Course?
- All of the training certifications needed to obtain several concealed permits, including the Utah, Arizona and Florida permits. This includes all passport photos, certificates and applications.
- Legal Heat swag box including the 2020 edition of the Legal Heat: 50 State Guide to Firearm laws book and many more swag items.
- Firearm law and self-defense training by nationally recognized firearm law attorney Phil Nelsen.
- Meet and greet with Kendall Jones, including hearing her story and journey towards self-protection.
- Breakfast, lunch and drinks will be included with your class price. There is also a coffee shop directly outside the training room if you would like to purchase any additional items.
- Private hands on training at the Legacy Shooting Center range, as well as training with the Mantis X training system.
1. What should I know about the Arizona Concealed Weapons Permit (CWP)?
Arizona Concealed Weapons Permit (CWP) Fees:
State application fees of $60 (for the first 5 years) and the renewal fee of $43 (every 5 years after) for Arizona residents and non-residents are paid directly to the state at the time the application is submitted and are not included in the class fee. Arizona permits can be applied for by mail. These forms are provided for you during class and your instructor will assist you in completing them.
2. What should I know about the Utah Concealed Firearm Permit (CFP)?
Utah Concealed Firearm Permit (CFP) Fee:
State application fees of $63.25 (non-resident), $53.25 (resident) for the first 5 years is the initial application fee and $25.75 every 5 years after to renew. Utah permits can be applied for by mail. These forms are provided for you during class and your instructor will assist you in completing them. Application fees are paid directly to the state at the time the application is submitted and are not included in the class fee.
Utah Concealed Firearm Permit (CFP) Renewal Fee:
To renew online, please go to https://secure.utah.gov/concealed-firearms. To renew over the internet the total cost is $20.75 for Utah residents or $25.75 for out-of-state permit holders. There is a $0.75 convenience fee to renew over the internet.
3. What should I bring with me to class?
Students MUST bring the following items to the class:
✓ Your valid photo ID
✓ Your printed email ticket
✓ Pen and Paper if you’d like to take notes
DO NOT bring firearms or ammunition into the classroom
About the Instructor
Phil is a nationally recognized firearm law attorney, former prosecutor, college law professor and author. Phil is a regular guest on national television programs discussing firearm law issues and is the author of Legal Heat: 50 State Guide to Firearm Laws that is available in both mobile app and traditional book formats. He has been featured in Forbes and serves as outside legal counsel for some of America's largest firearm manufacturers and retailers.
In addition to handling guns all of his life, Phil is also an NRA certified instructor in multiple disciplines, certified armed security instructor, Illinois CCL instructor, Utah CFP instructor, and one of the co-founders of Legal Heat. In the last decade Phil has personally instructed over 10,000 students in his in-person concealed carry courses and thousands more in his online courses. While obtaining his undergraduate degree Phil worked as a professional hunting guide in Utah and Idaho, where he solo guided over 100 successful elk, deer, moose, and buffalo hunts. He currently lives in Northern Utah with his wife and children.
Kendall is a hunter, philanthropist and social media influencer who provides her million+ followers with content regarding firearms, hunting and her own path to self-protection. Kendall has partnered with Legal Heat to help reach others on the same journey.
Cyn (Cynthia) is an NRA Instructor in Basic Pistol and Personal Protection in the Home, Range Safety Officer, United States Conceal Carry of America (USCCA) Certified Firearms Instructor, CCP, Women’s Handgun & Self Defense, Countering the Mass Shooter, Emergency First Aid Fundamentals.
Her interest in guns began during her first year as a young female real estate agent in the 1970s when another agent was murdered at a vacant property. Her personal safety and safety of other female agents became her primary concern. She created and taught agents on first impression warning signs/listen to your gut, no-go-show vacant properties alone and the safe way to show a home.
Cyn has two adult children and five grandchildren. You will usually find her faithful dog companion, Tanner, riding in her truck.
Before joining Legal Heat as a concealed/carry firearms instructor, Mark served for six years in the United States Marine Corps and worked a few years as a bail enforcement officer in Washington State. He later spent several years as a private bodyguard and, among others, protected Ron Paul between Presidential runs when the Congressman did not qualify for Secret Service protection. Mark has been a firearms instructor for many years and has been teaching Utah CPL concealed/carry firearms classes since 2012. He has been using and recommending the Legal Heat 50 State Guide to Firearms Laws app for years and is glad to be a part of the Legal Heat instructional team.
Please show up PROMPTLY for class. Please keep in mind some of our classes start at the same time the store opens, so please check the store hours and ensure you are seated in the class at start time. Our instructors are required by law to cover a certain amount of material. If you are not present for the entire class, you will not be qualified for the permit(s). If you show up late, you may be turned away and asked to reschedule. Our instructors cannot risk their accreditations by certifying those who are not in attendance for the entire class, or people who are absent from any significant portion of the class. You may reschedule your paid class once for free, and then for $15.00 per additional reschedule within a year of purchase. Thank you for your support. We look forward to seeing you for a great class!
There are no compromises on safety. Safety is a critical aspect of all classes and unsafe or disruptive behavior in class or dat the range will result in that person is asked to leave. In the event you are asked to go, you will not be refunded. The instructor has sole discretion in determining if you have engaged in unsafe or disruptive behavior.
Class fees are nonrefundable. Classes rescheduled due to acts of God, including extreme weather or store closures outside of Legal Heat's control will be rescheduled in place of a refund. Changes in class location or class schedule will be communicated by the email address and phone number you provide. All content is subject to change without notice.
All future class dates are tentative based upon Corona Virus restrictions. By purchasing a ticket you agree that all in-person class fees are 100% NON-REFUNDABLE. You accept that if your class has to be rescheduled due to Corona Virus directives from any governmental entity, venue partner or for ANY other reason, your only recourse is to reschedule the class for a future date.
In the interest of everyone's health and safety, we are asking students who do not feel well on the day of class to reschedule their class for a future date at no charge. If you have health concerns about attending a class, we are happy to reschedule your class for a future class date at no charge. If you need to reschedule your course, please email your original receipt to [email protected], along with the date of the future class you would like to attend.
If you have any underlying medical conditions as identified by the CDC please follow the CDC guidance and do not attend any large gathering including our classes. Here is the CDC guidance: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/need-extra-precautions/people-with-medical-conditions.html
Rescheduling of Future Classes:
Unless we notify you otherwise classes will continue as scheduled. Legal Heat will comply with CDC directives and any governmental orders, and if classes are rescheduled because of these directives and orders, you will be notified. We will make the best effort attempts to hold all classes as scheduled. However, all class registrants assume the full risk if the course needs to be rescheduled to a future date due to Corona Virus / COVID 19 directives from either government or our retail partners.