Certifications Obtained Through This Course
- Tennessee Handgun Carry Permit (HCP)
Legal Heat, the Nation’s largest concealed firearm training firm, has brought its industry leading training online with this Tennessee Handgun Carry Permit (HCP) Course. This single, entirely online, course will satisfy all of the necessary training requirements in order to apply for your Tennessee Handgun Carry Permit. Simply take the course, print your certificate, and head to the Driver Services Center to apply for your permit.
This course is only available for residents of Tennessee and you must be over the age of 21 to obtain your permit. At this time Tennessee does not issue permits to non-residents unless you reside in another state but have been employed in Tennessee for at least 6 months.
This course qualifies you to obtain the standard Handgun Carry Permit. Tennessee also issues a Tennessee Enhanced Handgun Carry Permit which requires an 8 hour in-person training course. Legal Heat also offers those courses and you can find them here.
Some of the most commonly asked questions are included below. Please read through them and, when you are ready, click “Buy Now” to get started.
1. How Do I Begin My Online Class?
Simple. All you need to do is click BUY NOW and you will be guided through the simple purchase process. Once you complete your purchase you will see a "begin course" button which you can simply click to begin. If you are not ready to begin the course at that time don't worry, you will also receive an automated email with a link to begin your course. If you do not receive an email or have trouble accessing it, you can also return to your user profile ("My Account") and click on "My Courses".
2. What Can I Expect From This Tennessee Handgun Carry Permit Class?
This class was designed by our team of instructors and firearm attorneys to cover the most crucial information you need to know prior to carrying a concealed firearm in Tennessee. By state law this course must cover 8 topics, specifically:
- Basic Firearms Safety Rules.
- Handgun Features (Nomenclature).
- Handgun Uses and Techniques.
- Handgun Knowledge and Skills for Safe Handling.
- Safe Storage of Firearm and Ammunition.
- Safe Transportation and Safe Storage Methods In Vehicles.
- Safe Handgun Cleaning Instruction.
- Current Tennessee Law on Carrying Handguns.
In addition to the above topics being covered you will find this Legal Heat course contains a lot of useful information regarding firearm laws and function. This course features state of the art interactive exercises and the industry best design elements. Once you finish the class you will receive your certificate of completion instantly to download and via email.
This class qualifies you to obtain the Standard Tennessee Handgun Carry Permit. A few notes regarding this permit:
- Must carry concealed at all times. This permit does not allow you to open carry.
- The fee for the permit will be $65 and is paid directly to the state.
- After you complete the course you must fill out the CCP Proof of Training form to submit along with training proof
- The permit will have an eight (8) year expiration date
- In addition to other prohibited areas, you may not carry at any school or university (public or private)
3. Are Online Classes Good Enough?
Within the firearm industry, there is a lot of debate about what constitutes enough training to prepare someone for carrying a concealed firearm. Throughout the United States, Legal Heat teaches nearly 100 different in-person concealed firearm permit courses each month. These courses will range from 4 hours in length to over 3 days in duration, depending on the state laws where we operate. Legal Heat’s position on what constitutes enough training is that there is never enough training.
We encourage all of our students, whether in-person or online, to continue their firearm safety and functionality training for their entire lifetime. However, when it comes to qualifying someone to exercise their inalienable right to carry a firearm for self-protection, we are not going to force anyone to do anything more than state law requires. If your state requires a 16-hour in-person training course (like Illinois), then we are going to offer the absolute best 16-hour course in the industry. If other states (such as Virginia, Idaho or Iowa) only require completion of an online training course, then we will offer the best online training course possible. We are here to encourage people to exercise their rights, not to dissuade them from doing so.
This course has been designed by attorneys, professional firearm instructors, college professors, and graphic designers. Make no mistake, this is the finest online training course on the market.
Once you complete your online training course we hope to see you in one of our hundreds of in-person training courses as you continue your firearm training education.
4. Where can I carry after I receive my permit(s)?
NOTE: Where a state’s permit is honored (often called “reciprocity”) will change from time to time. Having multiple state carry permits can help cover the gaps in any potential changes. As such, we always suggest checking the Legal Heat App or our Legal Heat “50 State Guide to Firearm Laws and Regulations” book before you travel, to ensure your permit is valid in the locations you will be visiting.
Tennessee Handgun Carry Permit (HCP)
About the Instructor
Phil is a nationally recognized firearm law attorney, former prosecutor, college law professor and author. Phil is a regular guest on national television programs discussing firearm law issues and is the author of Legal Heat: 50 State Guide to Firearm Laws that is available in both mobile app and traditional book formats. He has been featured in Forbes and serves as outside legal counsel for some of America's largest firearm manufacturers and retailers.
In addition to handling guns all of his life, Phil is also an NRA certified instructor in multiple disciplines, certified armed security instructor, Illinois CCL instructor, Utah CFP instructor, and one of the co-founders of Legal Heat. In the last decade Phil has personally instructed over 10,000 students in his in-person concealed carry courses and thousands more in his online courses. While obtaining his undergraduate degree Phil worked as a professional hunting guide in Utah and Idaho, where he solo guided over 100 successful elk, deer, moose, and buffalo hunts. He currently lives in Northern Utah with his wife and children.