1. What's required to obtain a Utah concealed firearm permit?
Answer: Applicants are required to: (1) be age 21 or older, (2) complete a state mandated class taught by an instructor certified by the Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification, (3) pass an FBI background check, (4) submit a fully completed application to the State of Utah, (5) submit a photocopy of your driver's license (or other government issued picture ID), (6) submit a passport sized photograph, and (7) submit a set of fingerprints on a fingerprint card, (8) submit a copy of your concealed weapon permit from your home state if you live in a state that recognizes the Utah permit (this is not required if you live in a state that does not recognize the Utah permit such as Illinois, New York, Nevada or California), and (9) pay an application fee of $39.00 for Utah residents and $49.00 for non-residents.
2. What's required to obtain an Arizona concealed firearm permit?
Answer: Applicants must: (1) be a resident of this state or a United States citizen; (2) be twenty-one years of age or older; (3) not be under indictment for a felony offense; (4) not be convicted of a felony offense, unless the conviction has been expunged, set aside, vacated or pardoned, or the individuals right to possess firearms has be restored AND the individual must not be a prohibited possessor under state or federal law. (5) not suffer from mental illness and been adjudicated mentally incompetent or committed to a mental institution; (6) not be unlawfully present in the United States; (7) complete a firearms safety training program.
After completing the training course you must call the AZ Department of Public Safety (800 256-6280) and request an application packet (IF you did not receive an application at the course). Once you receive your application packet you will need to return it with the following: (1) Two sets of fingerprints; (2) Legal Heat certificate of completion (or photocpy of Utah permit); (3) Completed application; (4) Payment to the AZ DPS for $60.
The application packet (including the above mentioned materials) should be mailed to:
Arizona Department of Public Safety - CWPU
3. What do I need to know about the new Illinois permit?
Answer: We have compiled a comprehensive FAQ page regarding the Illinois permit that you can view by clicking here. If you have any additional questions regarding the Illinois permit please feel free to email us.
4. What's included in Legal Heat classes?
Answer: We provide everything the applicant needs to obtain his permit, including passport photographs, certificate of completion and certified applications. In most classes, we also offer fingerprinting services for an additional fee of $10.00 to $20.00 (depending on location). Fingerprinting services are provided by fingerprinting professionals that are not affiliated with Legal Heat. Students are encouraged to bring an extra $10.00 to $40.00 to the class (cash or check) so they have the option of obtaining fingerprints during the class. The state of Utah requires ONE finger print card and the state of Arizona requires TWO finger prints cards to be mailed in with their applications.
5. What do I need to bring to the class with me?
Answer: Unless otherwise specifed, the only things you will need to bring with you are: (1) your driver's license (or other government issued picture ID), and (2) your payment for the class. We accept cash, check or credit cards. If you prepaid for your class through our website, please bring a copy of your receipt so we have proof of your payment. You do not need to bring a firearm to the class unless you will be attending includes a shooting qualification during the course (i.e. Idaho Enhanced permit, Illinois permit, etc). We will provide you with a pen and a copy of the class materials we cover during the class, but you may also want to bring a notepad to take notes on (this is optional).
6. How much do you charge for your classes?
Answer: We charge between $75 and $100 per person for our concealed firearm permit classes depending on location. Check the courses page of our website for the price of the class in the city you will be attending. Typically, we collect the class fee directly from the participants during the class. We also have a prepayment option through the courses page of our website. Class fees are non-refundable, but we will allow you to reschedule to participate in any of our future class nationwide with in ONE year of the date on your receipt/of your transaction date.
7. What forms of payment do you accept?
Answer: We accept cash, check and all major credit and debit cards. Class fees are non-refundable, but we will allow you to reschedule to participate in any of our future classes nationwide with in ONE year of the date on your receipt/of your transaction date.
8. What is your refund policy?
Answer: We understand that schedules can change and for whatever reason you may be unable to attend the class that you registered for. However, for a number of reasons (that we won't bore you with here), we have determined that our class fees are non-refundable. With that said, we want you to get the benefit of your purchase and we will allow you to reschedule and participate in any of our future class nationwide with in ONE year of the date on your receipt/of your transaction date. To make it easier for you, we return to most class locations on a monthly basis. Just find a class that works with your schedule on our "Classes" page and send us an email to let us know you will be attending. We will make sure we have a seat available for you.
9. What other fees will I pay in addition to the cost of the class?
Answer: You will have to pay: (1) to have your fingerprints taken (usually $10 to $20 depending on location), and (2) the application fee charged by each state you are applying to (these range from $50 to $150 depending on which states you are applying with). The state application fee is not paid at the course. It is paid at the time you apply for the permit(s). Legal Heat does NOT process the applications; the issuing government processes applications. We will cover this in great detail in your class.
10. How long do your classes last?
Answer: Approximately 4 hours. Please allow some leeway in your schedule in case the class runs over a few minutes. This rarely happens, but we are unable to excuse students from the class early so please plan accordingly.
11. Do class participants have to take a test or shoot a gun as part of the class?
Answer: No. There is no test or handling of firearms involved in the Utah or Arizona classes. This greatly increases the safety and relaxed atmosphere in the classes. Idaho Enhance permit does require a range portion but the requirements are very basic and we have not had one student yet who could not be guided through the range portion.
12. Do I also need to obtain a permit from the state where I reside?
Answer: In many cases, you will need to have your home state's concealed weapon permit prior to mailing in your application for a Utah permit. A prerequisite to obtaining a Utah permit is to obtain your home state's concealed weapon permit if you live in a state that recognizes the Utah permit (e.g. Colorado, Idaho, Iowa, Nebraska, Pennsylvania, Virginia, Washington and Wisconsin). You do not need to have your resident permit prior to taking our class. You will just need it prior to mailing in your Utah application (which you have one year after the class to do). If you live in a state that does not recognize the Utah permit (e.g. Illinois, Oregon, Nevada, California, New Mexico, Maryland, Kansas, Wisconsin, Illinois, New York and New Jersey), then you do not need to have your resident state permit prior to obtaining a Utah permit. Please also be aware that many states require residents of their state to obtain a permit from their home state prior to carrying a concealed firearm in their home state. For example, the only legal way for an Iowa resident to carry a concealed firearm in Iowa is with an Iowa permit (i.e. Iowa residents cannot use a non-resident Utah or Arizona permit to carry in Iowa - although they can use the Utah and Arizona permits to carry tons of other places). Some common examples of states that require their residents to have a permit from their home state in order to carry in their home state include include Colorado, Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska and Wisconsin (there are many other states like this). Our classes will satisfy the training requirements to obtain your resident permit in most of the states we teach classes in. Call us for details.
13. Does your class satisfy the training requirements for my resident state permit?
Answer: In most cases, yes. In most (but not all) of the states we teach in, our class will satisfy the training prerequisites for your resident state permit (i.e. the permit issued by your home state). All Legal Heat courses specifically meet the requirements for permits from Colorado, Idaho, Iowa, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Utah, Virginia, Wyoming, Washington, Wisconsin and others. Some states require that: (1) "live fire shooting" be included in a class, and/or (2) that the class consist of a minimum number of hours, in order for it to satisfy their training prerequisites (i.e. Ohio, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, Texas, Florida, etc…). Our classes last approximately 4 hours and (unless specifically advertised for a specific state) do not involve live fire shooting unless specifiually advertised. Therefore our classes generally do not meet the requirements of states that require live fire or more than 4 hours of instruction. It is your responsibility to confirm the permit eligibility requirements of your home state prior to attending (or paying for) our class. Simply call your local permit issuing authority (or us) and ask what the training requirements for your home state include.
14. Why would non-Utah residents want a Utah concealed firearm permit in addition to their resident state permit?
Answer: The Utah concealed firearm permit is one of the most widely recognized permits in the United States. Currently, 33 different states honor the Utah permit. Few other state's permit can match this total. Because of this, the Utah permit is also one of the most sought after concealed firearm permits in the country. People from all 50 states are applying in droves to obtain the Utah concealed firearm permit. Utah receives thousands of applications each month for concealed firearm permits. Most of those applications are from non-Utah residents.
15. Why would non-Arizona residents want an Arizona concealed firearm permit in addition to their resident state permit?
Answer: The Arizona permit, like the Utah permit, is very widely recognized. The difference between the Utah permit and the Arizona permit is that the Arizona is recognized by nearly all of the same states as Utah, but is also recognized by Nevada and New Mexico. Unlike Utah, however, an Arizona permit is not recognized in Minnesota or Washington. Each Legal Heat class qualifies students to obtain either the Utah or Arizona permits, students can then choose which permits they would like to obtain.
16. How long do I have after the class to submit my application(s)?
Answer: Applications for the Utah Concealed Firearm Permit must be submitted within one year after you took your class. Many other states have the same one year requirement (e.g. Iowa), but some states have a more relaxed standard and allow more time. We recommend getting it in as soon as possible after the class just to be safe. If more than one year has passed and you failed to submit your paperwork, you will need to come attend the class again and get new paperwork. Don't let that happen to you.
17. If I have waited too long to submit my application(s), do I have to pay to retake the class?
Answer: As noted above, applications for the Utah Concealed Firearm Permit must be submitted within one year after you took your class. Many other states have the same one year requirement (e.g. Iowa), but some states have a more relaxed standard and allow more time. If you waited too long to submit your paperwork, you will need to retake the class and pay the class fee. If you bring your original Legal Heat paperwork to class from Legal Heat and surrender it to the instructor, we will offer a reduced fee of $50.00 for your retake.
18. If I lost my paperwork can you send me new copies?
Answer: No. To protect the privacy of our students we do not maintain permanent records of who has attended our courses. Thus, to protect the integrity of our training we cannot reissue paperwork. Please treat your paperwork like you would cash. Students who have lost their paperwork need to retake the class and pay the full fee. We suggest making a photo copy, scanning and or photographing your original paper work to keep for your records.
19. How long will it take to get my permit after I apply?
Answer: It will take approximately 60 days from the date your application is received for Utah to issue a permit to you. Iowa permits are issued within 30 days. Colorado permits typically issue in less than 90 days. Wisconsin permits are expected to issue within 20 days after an application is submitted. Arizona permits take up to 90 days to obtain. Idaho, Pennsylvania, Oregon, South Dakota, Virginia, Washington, Wyoming and other state permit issuance times vary. Please check with your local sheriff or other permit issuing authority for details.
20. Does Legal Heat issue my permits, or is that done by someone else?
Answer: Legal Heat does not issue your permit(s). We are only certified to provide instruction and we are not able to issue your permit. Permits are issued by the state(s) you are obtaining the permit(s) from. We will provide you with all the details on how and where to apply for your permits during our class.
21. Will I obtain my permits immediately after the class is over?
Answer: No. Legal Heat does not issue your permit. We are only certified to provide instruction and we are not able to issue your permit. Permits are issued by the state you are obtaining the permit from. Wait times to obtain your permit vary by state, but they generally range from 3 to 90 days. We will provide you with all the details on how and where to apply for your permits during our class. We will also give you a good idea of current wait times for your state.
22. I have a DUI, OWI, MIP or other alcohol related offense on my criminal record. Will this prohibit me from obtaining a permit?
Answer: Each state treats this differently. However, it generally depends on when you were convicted of (or pled guilty to) the offense and when your probation (if any) ended. For example, Utah will generally allow someone to obtain a Utah permit if they were convicted of (or pled guilty to) an alcohol related offense and their probation (if any) ended more than six years before they apply for a permit. For other states, we encourage you to call the issuing authority (usually your county sheriff) and ask them directly so you get your answer directly from the source.
23. I have one or more misdemeanor offenses on my criminal record. Will this prohibit me from obtaining a permit?
Answer: It depends on what the offenses were and when they occurred. Since we do not actually issue your permit, we advise you to contact the issuing authority (usually your sheriff) and ask them directly so you get your answer directly from the source. For the Utah permit, contact the Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification at 801-965-4445 (open Monday-Friday from 8am-5pm Mountain Time).
24. How long are the Utah and Arizona concealed firearm permits valid?
Answer: A Utah and Arizona permits are valid for 5 years from the date it is issued. Utah permits can be renewed for additional 5 year periods by sending the State of Utah $15 through the mail. Utah will mail out a renewal form a few months before the permit expires. The Arizona permit may be renewed for additional 5 year periods by paying a $43 renewal fee. As long the permit is renewed prior to it expiring, Utah and Arizona permit holders never need to take the class again to maintain their Utah permit.
25. How long have you been in business?
Answer: Legal Heat has been in the concealed firearm training business since 2008. In that timeframe we have taught tens of thousands of students in our classes. Based on the information we have available to us, we believe we are the largest company of our kind in the country. We don't know of any other single company that teaches more students each year than we do.
26. What qualifications do your instructors possess?
Answer: All Legal Heat instructors have top-notch qualifications and possess a variety of legal, professional and practical skills that enhance the class experience. Each of our instructors has personally taught thousands of people in our concealed firearm classes. Most Legal Heat instructors possess the following qualifications:
We're obviously biased, but we believe we have the most well rounded, personable and professional instructors in the industry! Our customers wholeheartedly agree.
27. What do I have to do to legally transport my firearm to another state in my car or on an airplane?
Answer: This is really easy to do legally and we will cover this topic in great detail in the class. We have also made a video overview of what is required and that can be viewed on YouTube here.
28. Are there certain places I am not allowed to take my firearm even after I get my permit?
Answer: Yes. Each state has its own unique list of the places that are off limits to firearms. Most of the time these areas are referred to as weapon free zones. Most of weapon free zones remain off-limits even after you obtain your permit. The weapon free zones for your state are covered extensively in our courses and are also available in our self-titled traveler's guide Legal Heat: 50 State Guide to Firearm Laws and Regulations, which is available for the iPhone, iPad, Kindle Fire, Android or Nook mobile device platforms and in traditional paperback book format.
29. Are there any pre-requisites to taking your class? Do I need to purchase a gun prior to taking the class?
Answer: No, there are no prerequisites. We routinely have people in our class with little or no prior firearm experience. You don't even need to own a gun to attend and enjoy one of our classes.
30. Will you do private classes for groups?
Answer: We love to do private classes for groups. Most of the time we require a fairly large group of people to make traveling to and from the class worthwhile. However, the size of the group depends in large part on where the class will be located. Please call us to discuss the options available for your group.
31. Are you willing to do small private and solo classes for politicians, dignitaries and celebrities?
Answer: Yes. We welcome these opportunities to provide instruction to policy makers and public figures.
32. If I have my DD-214 and/or prior firearm training- do I need to take your class?
Answer: If you want a Utah permit you must take the class. Some other states will allow you to waive classroom training if you have military or other experience. Please check with your permit issuing authority (usually your sheriff) prior to the class. We have found that most people who possess a DD-214 still want to take our class. Although military and other training can provide excellent firearm experience, it rarely provides the understanding of the various firearm and concealed carry laws that you will be expected to know and obey when you carry a concealed firearm. Our classes satisfy this need.
33. I have already had my fingerprints taken and they are "in the system." Do I need to have them taken again to get my permit?
Answer: Yes. Even if you've been fingerprinted in the past you will need to be fingerprinted again to qualify for most permits.
34. Do you provide fundraising opportunities for groups in conjunction with your classes?
Answer: Yes. We welcome these opportunities which can provide large fundraising opportunities for your group. If your group is willing to sponsor a class and pre-sell tickets to the class, we can provide the most unique fundraising opportunity your group has ever come across.
35. How many people do you teach in an average year?
Answer: A lot! Based on the information we have at our disposal, we believe we are the largest company of our kind in the United States. We love what we do! We believe we do it better than most others in the industry and we enjoy our role in assisting others to exercise their fundamental right to keep and bear arms.
36. What do you cover in your classes?
Answer: The curriculum for our classes was prepared by the Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification. We teach the entire Utah curriculum from A to Z, and then after the Utah information has been taught in its entirety, we supplement that information with the laws of the state where we are holding the class. We have found this provides the best class experience for our students. The topics we cover include firearm safety, ammunition types and malfunctions, handgun types, firearm maintenance, concealed carry techniques (including live demonstrations), weapon free zone laws, self-defense laws, firearm transportation laws, and much, much more.
37. Are you guys as awesome as people say you are?
Answer: We think we are even more awesome than people say we are. People also say humility is one of our best qualities. We agree with them.