HOFFMAN ESTATES, IL - 2 Day Concealed Carry Class at Cabela's (ILLINOIS, UT, AZ, FL Permits)

  • (In Stock)

  • (In Stock)

  • (In Stock)

  • Additional Monthly Classes Coming Soon!

Student Name (From Driver's License or Government issued ID)

Please enter student name exactly as it appears on student driver's license or government ID for each student attending the class.

In the box "Enter Name #1 exactly as it appears on ID"

Class Overview

Quick Overview

This highly rated, fun, informative 37+ state concealed carry class and gun law seminar qualifies you to obtain CCW permits from Illinois, Arizona, Utah, and/or Florida. This 2 consecutive day CCW permit class is held in conjunction with our partner store Cabela's in Hoffman Estates, IL. This is the full 16 hour class and range portion that qualifies participants for the IL permit.

Concealed Carry Class at Cabela's in Hoffman Estates, IL

This course is designed for someone who either has no prior training or has completed 4 hours of prior training (such as the Legal Heat Utah permit course).  The course fee (which included all materials and range fees) is $149 per person when paid online or $169 at the door if space is available.


This course includes everything needed to obtain the Illinois permit, including: photos, range time (at a nearby indoor range), all necessary paperwork, materials, etc.



Who: Mandatory for Everyone

Where: Cabela’s - 5225 Prairie Stone Pkwy, Hoffman Estates, IL 60192.

What: Day 1 will introduce the new law as well as cover all applicable State and Federal laws relating to the ownership, storage, carry, and transportation of a firearm. Topics covered will include the following:

The Illinois Concealed Carry Act in its entirety With emphasis on 430 ILCS 66/10(h) which includes instruction on the appropriate and lawful interaction with law enforcement while transporting or carrying a concealed firearm.

Additional emphasis on:

430 ILCS 66/65 which includes instruction on prohibited areas and the parking lot exception.

The FOID Act 430 ILCS 65/1 et. seq.

Relevant portions of the ILCS including but not limited to

1) 720 ILCS 5/7-1. Use of force in defense of a person

2) 720 ILCS 5/7-2. Use of force in defense of dwelling

3) 720 ILCS 5/7-3. Use of force in defense of other property**

4) 720 ILCS 24/1 et. seq. Unlawful Use of Weapons


The second portion of the session will cover firearm safety as well as integrate some hands on training drills utilizing SIRT training pistols.

Topics covered will include the following:

Firearm safety, an introduction 4 basic firearm handling safety rule Home storage Vehicle storage Public Storage Basic principles of marksmanship - SIRT Pistol Training Stance Grip Sight Alignment Sight Picture Trigger Control Weapon handling, classroom portion Dry fire practice drills, handgun fundamentals Dry fire practice drills from concealment.



Who: Mandatory for Everyone

Where (8 AM):  Meet at OnTarget Range, 560 Beechcraft Lane, Crystal Lake, IL 60012.

Where (after the morning range):  Cabela’s - 5225 Prairie Stone Pkwy, Hoffman Estates, IL 60192.


Day 2: 

What: Day 2 will include the mandatory range qualification, then a final classroom portion at Cabela’s. The range portion includes weapon handling live-fire practice drills, a handgun fundamentals live fire qualification with a concealable firearm consisting of a minimum of 30 rounds which must include 10 rounds from a distance of 5 yards; 10 rounds from a distance of 7 yards; and 10 rounds from a distance of 10 yards at a B-27 silhouette target approved by the Illinois State Police.

(See www.isp.state.il.us/firearms/ccw/ccw-faq.cfm) Decompression Review range qualification. 

After the range portion we will return to Cabela’s to process paperwork for those who (due to prior training) will not be completing the remaining 4 hours of training.

The remaining 4 hours will include an overview of care, cleaning, loading, and unloading of a concealable firearm. Gun identification: revolver, semi-automatic, misc. Ammunition identification and selection, safety and cleaning protocols, cleaning equipment loading and unloading, firearm safety; basic principles of marksmanship, revisit the topics discussed on Day 1 in more detail.

PRIOR TRAINING: The student must bring proof of this prior training to the first day of the course.  The eligibility requirements for receiving credit for prior training are set by statute and cannot be expanded upon by the ISP. 

4 HOURS CREDIT: Any of the below certifications will qualify you to opt-out of the first 4 hours of the course on Day 1: 

STATE TRAINING: Illinois Hunter Safety Course, Chicago Firearms Safety Course, Utah Concealed Permit Course, Florida Concealed Permit Course, Nevada Concealed Permit Course, Missouri Concealed Permit Course, Kentucky Concealed Permit Course, Michigan Concealed Permit Course.

NRA TRAINING: NRA Basic Pistol Courswe, NRA Personal Protection Inside the Home Course, NRA Personal Protection Outside the Home Course.

MILITARY: Active, retired, and honorably discharged members of the United States Armed Forces. Current military personnel will need to provide documentation identifying the holder as an active member of the US Armed Forces (CAC or DD Form 2 ID cards in green, blue, or red, for instance). Veterans will need to provide a copy of their DD-214 or NGB 22.

LAW ENFORCEMENT: Prior Law Enforcement / Corrections  Officer Firearms Training as detailed in 430ILCS 66/75(J)


You do not need a FOID card in order to take this course. But you will need a FOID card to apply for your IL CCW permit. The instructor will share details regarding this topic during class.

What permits does this class qualify me to obtain:

  • Arizona
  • Florida
  • Illinois
  • Utah

Store Location:

5225 Prairie Stone Pkwy
Hoffman Estates, IL 60192

Class Location:

Range Location:

On Target
560 Beechcraft Lane
Crystal Lake, IL 60012

Carry Map:


Class Fees:

Class fee is non-refundable and does not include application fees for individual state permits.  Individual state permit fees are paid directly to the individual state at the time the application is submitted.  Non-discounted tickets purchased at the regular online pre-purchase rate may be changed once within a calendar year of purchase for free, and then for a $25.00 change fee for each additional change. Tickets purchased at promotional pricing will be changed the $25.00 change fee for each class change.

Permit Fees & Application Process:

Legal Heat does NOT process the concealed carry permit applications; the issuing government(s) processes the applications. Both Utah CCW and Arizona CCW applications can be applied for by mail. Our instructor will cover the application process for each permit in class.  Students are responsible for mailing in their own applications after class.

Utah’s initial non-resident CCW application fee is $67 and Utah’s initial resident fee is $57 for the first five years and $15 to renew. Arizona’s initial CCW application fee is $60 for the first five years and $43 to renew.

The Illinois CCW application fee for the five year permit is $150.00 for residents and $300.00 for non-residents payable by credit card or electronic check.   Illnois will take 90 days to process your application once it has been submitted.

The Idaho application fee is $75 for either the regular or enhanced CCW permit. All Idaho CCW permits must be applied for in person at the Sheriff’s office. Non-residents may apply at any Idaho Sheriff’s office. Idaho residents must apply to the county in which they reside. Students are responsible applying for their permits after class. Legal Heat highly recommends calling the Idaho Sheriff’s office in advance of your application to understand their process, which can differ from county to county.

Oregon residents and non-residents must apply in person for an Oregon permit in Oregon to conceal carry in Oregon. Oregon Sheriffs have extremely wide discretion issuing non-resident permits so be advised you may have to research several different Oregon county Sheriffs offices to locate a Sherriff who will issue a non-resident permit. Oregon non-residents permits are only available to the residents of the four states contiguous to Oregon, (California, Nevada, Idaho and Washington.) Oregon CCW application fees are $65 upon initial application and $50 to renew after 5 years.

As we will discuss in class, non-residents will need to obtain your home state permit to apply for the Utah, Idaho and Oregon permits. The one permit we will teach during the course where this is NOT the case is the Arizona non-resident permit, which does not require an applicant to hold their home state permit in order to apply.

Finger Printing:

Finger printing services are available during most classes for a minimal additional fee of $10 per card. Utah requires ONE fingerprint card and Arizona requires TWO fingerprint cards when applying for your concealed carry permits. When applying for your home state permit, your local issuing agency my want to finger print you. Your instructor will provide details during class.

Age Requirement:

In most states you must be 21 years of age to apply for your concealed carry permit, however, there are a few states where you can be 18 and apply for a regular or provisional CCW permit including Montana (MT), South Dakota (SD), Utah (UT), and West Virginia (WV). If you are 20 years of age, (or 18 in MT, SD, UT & WV) you may take this course but cannot apply for your permits/submit your applications until you are 21 years of age (or 18 in MT, SD, UT & WV). The qualification you receive from the course expires ONE year from the date you take the course for most state permits. Please allow adequate time for your application to be processed prior to your paperwork expiring.

What should I bring with me to CLASS?

Students MUST bring the following items to the class with them:

  1. Your valid photo ID.
  2. Your printed email ticket confirmation.
  3. Pen and paper if you’d like to take notes.



What should I bring with me to the INDOOR RANGE?

  • An UNLOADED, CASED fully functioning pistol. Revolver or semiautomatic. No antiques.
  • A gun case.
  • Gun must be empty and cased while bringing it into the range.
  • Guns and ammo must be securely locked in your trunk during classroom portion.
  • 100 rounds of ammunition.
  • No steel cased, armor piercing or tracer ammo permitted.
  • Hearing and eye protection.
  • This is an indoor range.
  • Please wear comfortable (range of motion), clothes.
  • No V-necks or low-cut shirts.
  • Wear flat-soled shoes, with good traction and support that completely enclose your foot.
  • No flip-flops, sandals or open footwear.
  • Snacks & drinks are permitted but will not be allowed at the firing line.
  • This is an excellent class to attend with your spouse, friend and family.


There are no compromises on safety. Safety is a critical aspect of all classes and unsafe or disruptive behavior in class or at the range will result in that person is asked to leave the class. In the event you are asked to leave, you will not be refunded. The instructor has sole discretion on determining if you have engaged in unsafe or disruptive behavior.

Register TODAY for this fun and informative class.
Limited space available.

Pay $149 NOW online or $169 at the door!

We look forward to seeing you in class.

Class fees are nonrefundable. Content subject to change without notice.

© National Training Solutions, Inc. All Rights Reserved.