Gun laws in the United States can get pretty complicated. Not only does each state have its own set of laws that must be followed, but they each have their own regulations of obtaining and renewing concealed carry permits.
While many states are adopting Constitutional Carry laws that stipulate that residents don’t need to obtain a license to carry a concealed firearm, we believe that obtaining the permit available in your state will be beneficial to you in the long run. If you live in a Constitutional Carry state, be sure to check out our article explaining why you should still get your license.
We’ve compiled a state-by-state guide of all the requirements you can expect when you apply to renew your concealed carry license. It’s important to note that some states allow individual counties to create their own requirements, so you should always check with your county Sheriff’s Department to get the most up-to-date information.
In June 2021, Alabama Governor Kay Ivey signed the Alabama Unified Concealed Carry Permit Act into law. This law overhauled and regulated the processes and pricing of concealed carry permits in the state of Alabama.
Residents of the state can now obtain a license for 1 year, 5 years, or a lifetime license. A lifetime license will cost the applicant $300 while the shorter-term licenses cost $25 for each year that the license is valid.
Should a resident opt to obtain a 1 or 5-year license, they must simply reapply after the license has expired.
When an Alaska resident is approved for a concealed carry permit, the permit will expire five years after their most recent birthday. If your permit is set to expire soon it’s best to start the renewal process early.
Concealed carry renewals cost $25 if done 90 days before the permit expires.
If a renewal is made up to 60 days after the permit’s expiration, the late renewal fee is $60.
If a renewal is not completed within 60 days after the expiration date, you will have to go through the new permit application process all over again.
Arizona residents may begin the concealed carry renewal process 90 days before their permit is set to expire. To renew their permit, a resident must submit a renewal application and pay the $43 renewal fee.
If the permit holder is not a citizen of the United State of America, then they must also submit a copy of the front and back of a Federally issued document authorizing the individual to be in the U.S.
If a renewal application is not submitted within 60 days after the permit’s expiration date, residents must reapply for a new permit.
Arkansas residents looking to undergo the concealed carry permit renewal process must submit a renewal application, pay a fee of $52.50, and complete a training course with a concealed handgun instructor.
Arkansas concealed carry permits are valid for 5 years. If a renewal is completed after the license’s expiration date, applicants must pay a $15 late fee. If a permit renewal is not completed within 6 months, the applicant must reapply for a new concealed carry permit.
Not only are concealed carry permits notoriously difficult to obtain in California, but the state does not have a unified system for permit renewals.
Generally, renewal applicants should be prepared to submit a renewal application, renewal fee, and complete a firearm training course.
Fees and other requirements may vary by county. To get the most accurate information available, you need to check with your county’s Sheriff’s Department.
Similar to California, Colorado doesn’t have a unified system for concealed carry permit renewals. However, all Colorado CCWs expire after 5 years.
Like most states, you can expect to fill out your county’s renewal application, pay a nominal fee, and provide proof of firearms training.
Each county may have different requirements, so be sure to check your county’s Sheriff’s Department to get the most accurate information.
After you’ve gone through the lengthy process of obtaining a Connecticut State Pistol License, you will have 5 years before you need to fill out a renewal application.
The license issuing authority should mail you a renewal notice 90 days before your license is set to expire. Upon receipt, you can either mail in your renewal application or take it to the nearest Special Licencing and Firearms Unit (SLFU) main office.
Be prepared to provide proof of citizenship or legal residency, pay the $70 state renewal fee, and provide a notarized or date-stamped photo of yourself.
Residents seeking to renew their Delaware License to Carry a Concealed Deadly Weapons have a very simple renewal process to complete.
Fill out the state’s renewal application (be sure to turn in a duplicate copy as well), pay the $65 renewal fee, and include 2 color passport-style photos of yourself that have been taken in the last six months. Then turn it in and wait to hear back from the issuing authority.
The concealed carry renewal process in Florida is very simple. Around 90 days before your license is set to expire, you should receive a letter with the renewal form and complete instructions to follow.
If you’re renewing in-person, just bring your unsigned application, valid photo ID, and the required renewal fee to the regional Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services or authorized local tax collector.
The renewal fee for Florida residents should be between $45 and $57 depending on whether your local tax collector requires you to pay a convenience fee.
Non-residents must pay $87 which includes a $42 fee for fingerprint processing.
Be sure to bring any additional paperwork as outlined in the renewal letter you received.
Georgia residents looking to renew their Weapons Carry License (WCL) must fill out their application form and sign it in front of a notary public. Your application must also include a copy of your current WCL and state-issued ID.
These are turned into your county’s Probate Court alongside your county’s fee. Each county has a different fee, so check with your county to ensure you have the correct amount.
Various counties may also require applicants to sign an affidavit and consent to a background check.
It is very difficult for residents of Hawaii to obtain a Hawaii License to Carry, and the license must be renewed annually. Neither the Hawaii Police Department nor the Hawaiian legislative body have published information on license renewal, so applicants should be prepared to complete the original application process.
In Hawaii, you must show proof of “good character” and justify your need to carry a weapon. You must also demonstrate that you can safely handle a weapon.
If you live on Big Island and believe a license to carry is necessary for your safety and wellbeing, contact the Hawaii Police Department for complete application information.
Idaho residents only have a few steps to follow in order to renew their Concealed Weapons Permit (CWP). Idaho residents can renew their CWP any time within 90 days before the permit expires. Idaho residents have 90 days after the expiration date to renew their license before incurring a late fee.
The fee for renewal varies by county, but the price is generally between $30 and $40.
Applicants should be prepared to show their current CWP and Driver’s License. Your county may also require you to have your license’s picture taken by the police department
Illinois residents looking to have their Concealed Carry Licenses renewed must use the Illinois State Police application portal. The portal will contain all needed paperwork for applicants to fill out. The renewal fee in Illinois is a nominal $75 dollars, and each license is valid for 5 years.
Indiana is one of the few states that doesn’t impose a state-level fee to obtain or renew a concealed handgun license. However, you will need to fill out a renewal application, resubmit your fingerprints, and go through processing at your local law enforcement agency in order to renew your license. Localities can impose their own fees for license renewal, so check with your local law enforcement agency to find out how much your renewal will cost.
Iowa residents looking to complete their concealed carry license renewal must do so through their county’s Sheriff’s Department. You can apply for your permit 30 days before your license expires. Should your license expire, you have 30 days to complete your renewal before you will be charged for a new license. The renewal fee is $25 dollars.
Renewals must be done in person, so visit your local Sherrif’s department before 4:30 P.M. to complete your renewal application.
Also, you do not need to provide proof of training so long as you obtained your license on or after January 1, 2011.
Kansas has a very streamlined renewal process for their concealed carry license. Licensees should receive a letter containing a renewal notice, application, and instructions 90 days before their license is set to expire.
Fill out the application, have your signature notarized, and mail it to the Kansas Attorney General’s office in Topeka with a 2×2 color photo of the licensee, a copy of the licensee’s Kansas ID, and a check for $25 made payable to the Kansas Attorney General.
Your application must be sent via certified mail or hand-delivered to the AG’s office in Topeka, Kansas.
If your license has expired, you will be charged a $15 late fee. If your license is expired for 6 months or longer, it can no longer be renewed and you will have to apply for a new license.
Kentucky residents holding a CCDW license will receive a notice in the mail 120 days before their license is set to expire. To renew your license you must take the renewal notice, a 3.5×4 color photograph, and a $40 check made payable to the Kentucky State Treasurer to your County’s Sheriff’s Department.
Make sure the photo you submit does not contain sunglasses or any object that may obscure your facial features.
If your license expires, you have six months to renew your license before it becomes “permanently expired.” After Which you must apply for a new CCDW license. If you renew your license within the 6-month window, you will need to pay a $15 late fee.
Louisiana residents with a 5-year Concealed Handgun Permit should receive a renewal notice 120 days before their permit is set to expire. Your renewal can be completed entirely online and can be found on the Louisiana State Police website.
Applicants must submit a photocopy of their Driver’s License or ID and a new training certificate. LSPD recommends that residents turn in their applications 90 days prior to the expiration date. If your license is expired for more than 60 days you will have to apply for a new license.
The renewal fee for a 5-year license is $125 dollars. Considering the high cost of a 5-year license, residents should consider applying for a lifetime license. The cost is significantly higher at $500, but you’ll save money in the long run.
Maine residents looking to renew their Permit to Carry Concealed Weapons must fill out the application provided by the Maine Department of Public Safety. You should also include a new passport-style photo of yourself and a $20 check made payable to the Treasurer, State of Maine. If your license is expired for a period of more than 6 months, you must apply for a new license.
Maryland Wear and Carry Permit (WCP) are one of the more difficult licenses to obtain. If you’re a first-time license holder, your first license will expire at the end of your birth month 2 years after it was issued. Every subsequent renewal will be valid for 3 years.
All renewals must be completed through the Maryland State Police online licensing portal.
Remember, your renewal application must include all the same documentation as your original application. You must also complete a firearm training course from an authorized instructor within the 2 years prior to your renewal application.
The renewal fee in Maryland is $50.
In order for Massachusetts residents to renew their firearms license, they will need to submit all the required documents and fees to their local police department.
Each Police Department in the state will require the resident to submit an application form and the $100 application fee.
Your local Police Department may also require you to submit a copy of your Massachusetts Firearm Safety Certificate, a copy of your ID, and proof of residence.
Your local issuing authority may require additional documentation, so be sure to contact them in order to obtain the most accurate information possible.
Once you’ve been approved, you’ll have 6 years before you need to renew your license again.
Michigan residents can begin their concealed carry permit renewal process up to 6 months before it is set to expire. To renew your license, go to your local County Clerk’s office and pay the $115 renewal fee.
Make sure you keep your receipt for the renewal application with your concealed carry license at all times. If your license expires, this receipt will serve as an extension until your new license is issued or your original license is revoked.
Michigan does require you to certify that you have taken a training course and an hour of live-fire range time within the 6 months prior to applying for your license renewal. Michigan concealed carry licenses expire on the licensee’s birthday four years after it was issued.
The first step that Minnesotans must take to renew their permit to carry is to take an authorized pistol training course. These courses are required for every renewal and can be completed up to 1 year prior to the application date.
You will also need to personally deliver your application, a photocopy of your ID, and a renewal fee to your County’s Sheriff’s Department.
The fee imposed by each county varies, but the maximum that each county can charge for renewals is $75 dollars. A $10 fee will be applied if you apply for renewal within the first 30 days after its expiration date. After the 31st date of expiration, you will need to apply for a new permit to carry.
The renewal process in Missouri is not unified across counties. Each county may have different requirements and fees than other counties in the state.
Some counties will only ask that you provide your current ID, concealed carry license, and renewal fee. Others will require you to provide proof of additional training and have your fingerprints retaken.
Contact your local Sheriff’s Department to get specifics about what documentation is required for renewal in your home county.
Montana does not have a unified concealed carry permit renewal policy. The requirements of each county may differ, so residents should contact their County’s Sheriff’s Department to get the most accurate information available.
Generally, you will need to submit a completed application, a photocopy of your ID and current Concealed Weapon Permit, and the appropriate fee.
Nebraskans have a very simple concealed carry renewal process to go through. The entire application can be completed either online or in print up to 4 months before the license expires.
Complete the application and have your signature notarized, provide proof of ID and a copy of your current concealed handgun permit, and pay the $50 fee ($54.50 for online applications).
Should your permit expire, you’ll have to satisfy all requirements for a new license which include providing fingerprints and proof of authorized training.
Nevada CCW renewal requirements are regulated under Nevada Administrative Code 202.030, however certain details are left to the discretion of the Sheriff’s Department reviewing the application.
You will be required to submit an application with a notarized signature, an application fee, proof that you have completed an authorized training course, and your current ID.
The amount of the fee and length of the required training classes are left to the discretion of the County Sheriff’s Department. Check your county’s website to get the most accurate information for your area.
New Hampshire residents must contact their local Sheriff’s Department for details on renewing their Pistol and Revolver License.
New Jersey makes no distinctions between initial license applications and renewals. You must fill out 3 copies of the “State of New Jersey Application For Permit To Carry A Handgun.” All copies must be notarized. Applicants must submit 4 passport-style photos with their applications. You will need to provide justification for needing a concealed weapon. You must also pass a mental health background check and provide proof that you are qualified to own a handgun. The renewal fee is $50.
New Mexico residents looking to renew their Concealed Carry License must complete the renewal form, submit the $75 fee, and provide a certificate of completion for the 4-hour firearms training refresher course.
Remember, you must complete the 2-hour refresher after your license is renewed.
If your license has expired for more than 60 days, it is considered permanently expired. You will then be required to apply for a new license.
New York law does not require permit holders to renew their licenses. In this sense, they never technically expire and you will not be issued a new permit. However, New York does require permit holders to recertify their license every 5 years. You can submit your recertification application on the New York SAFE Act website.
If you have any questions about recertification, contact your County Sheriff’s Department for exact instructions
Each county in North Carolina differs in its handling of concealed carry renewals. Since the fees and requirements can vary widely from county to county, we recommend you visit your County Sheriff’s Department website to get the most accurate information available.
North Dakota residents holding either a Class 1 or Class 2 Concealed Weapons License must renew their licenses every 5 years. Licensees who choose to apply for renewal online will need to also submit a printed copy by mail.
Your application must include two color passport-style photos as well as a copy of your current driver’s license. The renewal fee is $60 across the board.
If you wish to maintain your Class 1 license, you must complete additional required testing. This includes classroom instruction, a written test, and a shooting proficiency test. The benefit of the Class 1 license is the additional state you gain reciprocity with. This testing must be completed prior to submitting your renewal application and can cost up to $50.
Ohio Concealed Handgun Licensees have several steps that they must follow in order to renew their licenses.
You must make an appointment to complete your renewal application. Many counties in Ohio will not accept walk-ins. Make sure you take your current CHL, your current Ohio ID, a filled-out application, and the $50 renewal fee.
Individual counties may have their own renewal requirements, so be sure to check your County Sheriff’s Department website to make sure you bring all the necessary paperwork and certifications.
Oklahoma Handgun Licenses can be renewed up to 90 days before they expire. These renewals can be done online through the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation portal or printed off and mailed in.
Regardless of how you wish to submit your application, you must submit 2 colored passport-style photos and pay either the $85 renewal fee for a 5-year license or $170 for a 10-year license.
No additional training is required after you have obtained your initial license.
Although most of the counties in Oregon have the same requirements, they all handle their renewals and applications differently. Oregon residents will need to check with their County Sheriff’s Office to determine if applications can be submitted online, in the mail, or through in-person appointments.
All counties in Oregon require that you provide a completed application and a renewal fee of $75. Some will require you to submit one or more forms of Identification and your current Concealed Handgun License. Be sure to check with your County Sheriff’s Department to learn what documentation they require.
Pennsylvanians looking to renew all follow the same application process and fee schedule. Some counties may require an in-person application while others allow applications to be submitted online.
The application process for renewals is the same as when you applied for your initial license. You must fill out the application, provide ID, and pay the flat $20 application fee.
Pennsylvania licenses are valid for 5 years.
The Rhode Island Attorney General’s Office makes few distinctions between new and renewed Licenses to Carry. The only difference for your renewal application is that you do not need to resubmit your fingerprints or have reference letters. You must still provide 3 references.
Make sure your application is notarized, you include 2 passport-style 2×2 color photos of yourself, proof of qualification, a letter justifying your need to carry, 2 photocopies of positive identification, and the $40 fee.
Check the Rhode Island Attorney General’s Office website for additional information.
The process for concealed carry renewals in South Carolina is very straightforward. Visit the South Carolina State Law Enforcement Division and fill out the online application. As a renewal applicant, you will not be required to submit fingerprints or your training information. Don’t forget to include a photocopy of your South Carolina Driver’s License. The fee for renewals is $50, and your license will be valid for another 5 years.
South Dakota residents looking to renew their Enhanced Concealed Pistol Permits must consent to a fingerprint background check and a National Instant Criminal Background Check. Renewal applicants must also present proof that they have completed an authorized live-fire handgun course, a “use of force” class, and a firearm law course. A $50 renewal fee must also be paid. You will also need to pay $43.25 to the Division of Criminal Investigation for the fingerprint background check. These licenses are valid for 5 years.
The Tennessee Department of Safety & Homeland Security makes the renewal process for Concealed Handgun Carry Permits very simple. Just visit their website, fill out the application, and pay the $50 renewal fee. These licenses are good for 8 years.
Texans looking to undergo the concealed carry renewal process have a very easy process to follow. Visit the Texas Department of Public Safety website, fill out the online application, submit any necessary supporting documents, and follow fingerprinting instructions. The renewal fee for the Texas License to Carry is $40.
Utah residents looking to renew their Concealed Firearm Permit should visit the Utah Department of Public Safety website to fill out and complete their application. Renewal applicants must watch the firearm safety and suicide prevention video during the renewal process.
You will need to include a recent passport-style color photo of yourself and a $20 renewal fee. An online convenience fee of $0.75 will also be charged.
Virginia residents who wish to renew their Concealed Handgun Permit can mail in their application to their County’s Circuit Court. They will be charged no more than $50 total for the renewal of their permit.
Since every court can have different application procedures, we recommend contacting them to get the most accurate information.
Washington residents looking to go through the concealed carry renewal process should contact their local law enforcement agency for complete information on CPL renewals. You can begin the renewal process up to 90 days before the license expires.
The CPL renewal fee is $32. If your CPL has expired, a $42 late fee will also be charged. Licenses expired for more than 90 days are permanently expired and cannot be renewed. After the 90 day grace period, you must apply for a new license.
Washington CPLs are valid for 5 years.
West Virginia residents should contact their County Sheriff’s Department for exact details on renewing their Concealed Weapons Permit.
Generally, the state requires you to provide proof that you’ve completed an authorized training course and pay a $100 fee. All other information on renewal procedures can be obtained from your County Sheriff’s Department.
The Wisconsin Department of Justice issues a letter to all Concealed Carry License holders 120 days before their license expires. This letter contains the instructions for renewal and a unique ID number that must be used when renewing your license.
The fee for renewing a license is $22. No additional training is necessary for renewals.
Wyoming residents must complete the application provided by the Wyoming Division of Criminal Investigation and turn it into their local Sheriff’s office. Your local Sheriff’s office will have specific details on all the documents you must submit for your renewal application.
Wyoming DCI charges $45 for renewals, but your local Sheriff’s office may impose their own processing fees.
Phil Nelsen is a nationally recognized firearms law attorney, expert witness, college professor, author, and co-founder of Legal Heat, the nation’s largest firearms training firm.
Legal Heat offers CCW classes nationwide, and also publishes the industry-leading Legal Heat 50 State Guide to Firearm Laws and Regulations which can be downloaded on iTunes, GooglePlay, and Kindle App stores. You can purchase the paperback version of the Legal Heat 50 State Guide or sign up for a class at https://mylegalheat.com.
You can read more about Phil, or contact him, on his website www.philnelsen.com.